Illinois Concealed Carry

What is required to obtain my Illinois concealed carry?

First let's cover the minimum requirement to apply for your Illinois concealed carry permit; Sometimes referred to as Illinois concealed and carry permit.




Be 21 when you apply for your permit.

Have a valid Firearm Owner’s Identification card. You may apply for your FOID at the same time as your concealed carry.

No conviction or found guilty of a misdemeanor involving the threat of physical force or violence to any person within the past five years.

Do not have two or, more violations related to driving while under the influence of alcohol, other drugs, intoxicating compounds within the past 5 years.

Not subject to a pending arrest warrant, prosecution, or proceeding for an offense, or action that could lead to disqualification to own or possess a firearm.

Can not have been in a residential, or court-ordered treatment for alcoholism, alcohol detoxification, or drug treatment within the past five years.


Scroll down for More Info...






 The state requires a total of 16 hours training. Some students will qualify for credit of up to 8 hours. If you were in the Military you will get eight hours credit, so you will only need to take the second day.

  1. Firearm safety (Classroom)
  2. Basic firearm handling safety rules
  3. Home storage
  4. Vehicle storage
  5. Public Storage
  6. Basic principles of marksmanship (Classroom/Range)
  7. Gun identification: revolver, semi-automatic, misc.
  8. Ammunition identification and selection
  9. Safety and cleaning protocols
  10. Cleaning equipment
  11. Loading and unloading
  12. All applicable State and Federal laws relating to the ownership, storage, carry, and transportation of a firearm (Classroom)
  13. With emphasis on 430 ILCS 66/10(h) which includes instruction on the appropriate and lawful interaction with law enforcement while transporting or carrying a concealed firearm.
  14. With emphasis on 430 ILCS 66/65 which includes instruction on prohibited areas and the parking lot exception.
  15. 720 ILCS 5/7-1. Use of force in defense of a person**
  16. 720 ILCS 5/7-2. Use of force in defense of dwelling**
  17. 720 ILCS 5/7-3. Use of force in defense of other property**
  18. 720 ILCS 24/1 et. seq. Unlawful Use of Weapons**
  19. The Act in its entirety,
  20. The FOID Act 430 ILCS 65/1 et. seq.
  21. Relevant portions of the ILCS including but not limited to

 ** Must define dwelling, aggressor, forcible felony and unlawful use of weapons pursuant to the ILCS.


Weapon Handling

  1. Sight Picture
  2. Trigger Control
  3. Care, cleaning, loading, and unloading of a concealable firearm
  4. Stance
  5. Grip
  6. Sight Alignment and picture
  7. Dry fire practice drills, handgun fundamentals
  8. Dry fire practice drills from concealment
  9. Live fire practice drills, handgun fundamentals
  10. Live fire qualification with a concealable fi rearm consisting of minimum of 30 rounds which must include 10 rounds from a distance of 5 yards; 10 rounds from a distance of 7 yards; and 10 rounds from a distance of 10 yards at a B-27 silhouette target approved by the Illinois State Police. 


* The Department will accept up to 8 hours of in-person training already completed toward the 16 hour training requirement as outlined in Section 75.




 The only states which Illinois deems, "Substantially similar," are Arkansas, Idaho, Mississippi, Texas and Virginia. (No other states residence will be approved at the time of this writing (06/17/2021)

For more information for out of state persons, please see this link to the Illinois State Police website.



Sign me up!